Ham & Bean Soup

I’ve been working on a menu plan for this week. I’ll post it Monday as part of menu plan Monday. One of the things I’m planning to make is Ham & Beans and Cornbread. It’s a great way to use up leftover ham, the ham bone or ham hocks. We have a family of 6. This usually allows for some leftovers but not enough for another meal. Here’s how I do it.

Ham & Bean Soup

2 lbs northern or navy beans
1-2 onions
ham bone, leftover ham pieces, or ham hocks
Use whatever you have.
salt & pepper

Wash your beans in a colander and pick out all the uglies, dirt and stones. If you have time, you can soak these overnight to shorten cooking time and make them less gassy.

Put your beans, chopped onion(s) and ham bone, pieces, or hocks into a large soup pot. Mine is 10 quarts. Add pepper generously. Do not add salt at this time. It will make the beans tough.

Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer for 2-3 hours until the beans are as soft as you like them. We like them very soft and beginning to break apart. Now is the time to add your salt. I usually add about a tablespoonful then put additional salt and pepper on the table for seasoning.

This is a favorite at our house all year round. It is frugal; because, it can be made with ham leftovers or you can buy a package of ham hocks and just use one or two quite inexpensively.

We use the cornbread recipe on the Quaker cornmeal box. We add about half a cup of extra sugar because we like it sweet. We’ve also added a can of green chiles or drained corn with good results. Don’t be afraid to experiment with your recipes.
Enjoy!

Laura
Wife and Mother to a Whole Bunch of Soup Lovers

See my complete list of recipes in the sidebar at my other blog:
Harvest Lane Cottage

6 thoughts on “Ham & Bean Soup

  1. Laura,

    This is one of our favorite also. I have the beans soaking right now. I plan on putting them in the slowcooker late tonight so that it will cook all night. We will have it tomorrow for lunch after church. And yes, we love cornbread with ours also.

    I will be back to visit again.
    Pat

    Like

  2. Hi Laura,

    I love ham and bean soup! You are a girl after my own heart! It is such a comforting meal for me and my family, so good a cold night – we like ours served over home fries or what we call re-fried potatoes, but cornbread sounds so good too. Have a wonderful Sunday.

    Blessings, Barb

    Like

Leave a comment