Starting the New Year Right

I woke early this morning, more than an hour before the rest of the family. Early was about 7:00 a.m., because we stayed up until midnight last night playing games and watching a movie as we awaited the new year. It was good to end the year with my husband and children and start the new year with my husband and children.

After my husband kissed me, we hugged the children as we sang Auld Lang Sygne. Then we gathered in a circle and prayed about the new year. What a way to start the new year. Together, in prayer. My oldest son will be 19 soon. It may be the last New Year’s eve we spend together. I cherished the moment.

Back to this morning. I enjoyed a nice long hot shower with sweet brown sugar vanilla body wash and my new pouf and back scrubber. After dressing, it was off to the living room to meet with my Lord God. I’m reading through Genesis right now. It’s reading like a novel. I love it when reading God’s word is so inviting and effortless. I love it when He brings things to my attention as I read. I want to be close to God and have Him teach me by His Holy Spirit as I read. It was like that this morning. After a bit, my baby Amy, 8, came in and cuddled up with me. I love cuddling with my little kiddles. They’ll be small for such a short time.

I’d say that I started the new year right, with family and with God. What about you? It’s not too late to start right.

May the God of Hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him. So that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Laura

4 thoughts on “Starting the New Year Right

  1. Laura, you are such an inspiration to me – If only I could have your faith. What an incredible way to start your new year, cherish it always. Tonight, I also plan on starting at the beginning with scripture reading. Happy New Year!

    Blessings, Barb

    Like

  2. Oh Laura, what a lovely way to start the new year! It is only my husband and I but we did watch the new year come in and prayed and kissed each other. On Christmas Eve we had shared communion at our home – I thought later, that would have been such a neat thing to have done on new years eve. (That is a plan for this year’s new year’s eve & then praying with each other as the new year began.) You do very beautifully in all you do, you are very blessed and talented in your homemaking skills! I am very proud to know you and am always blessed by your words.
    I love the picture of you and your family! – I just found out my oldest daughter is pregnant with my 4th grandchild (her 4th child) – she is still in the sicky sicky stages.
    Praising the Lord for all HIS many many blessings. I so am grateful that you and yours are recouperating.
    Blessings, hugs & love,
    Ruthanne

    Like

Leave a Reply

