German Apple Stuffing

My momma always made sage dressing.  When I got married, I decided to do something different.  It’s become my family’s favorite stuffing.  I always think I’m going to go back and make the sage dressing sometime; but, I’m always voted down!  Happy Thanksgiving, Advent, and Christmas!

German Apple Stuffing

1 loaf white bread in 1/2″ cubes

1/3 cup butter

1medium chopped onion

1/2 c chopped celery

1/4 c chopped celery leaves

2 T chopped parsley

1/4 t salt

1/8 t pepper

2 cups milk

2 eggs, beaten slightly

2 medium Red Delicious or Gala Apples, pared and chopped

1/4-1/2 cup raisins

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Grease a 6 cup baking dish.  Place bread cubes on a baking sheet and bake until dry and toasted, about 5 minutes.  I sometimes just have the kids toast the bread in the toaster and tear it up small for me instead. 

2.  Transfer bread into large bowl.  Lower oven temperature to 350 degrees. 

3.  Melt butter in saucepan.  Stir in onion, celery, parsley, salt and pepper.  Cook 3 minutes. 

4.  Pour over bread and stir.  Add milk and eggs.  Stir to moisten.  Gently stir in the raisins and apples.  Spoon into prepared baking dish.  Cover with foil.

5.  Bake one hour.

How to Plan Your Holiday Meal Preparation Timeline

Happy Thanksgiving, Advent, and Christmas!

Laura of Harvest Lane Cottage 

Leave a comment