Practical Advice from Marmee

 

“Have regular hours for work and play;
make each day both useful and pleasant,
and prove that you understand the worth of time
by employing it well.
Then youth will be delightful,
old age will bring few regrets,
and life become a beautiful success,
in spite of poverty.”

~Marmee in Little Women

Louisa May Alcott

Oh, will I ever learn? Will this finally be the year when I establish any kind of regular hours? I can make plans, but will I keep to them? Will they go by the wayside like so many resolutions of years past? Paul had troubles doing the good he wanted to do, too. Romans 17:15 states,

For what I am doing, I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice; but what I hate, that I do.*
That’s how I feel about so many things I try to fix and change in my life. I know that resolutions aren’t enough for me. I’m going to pray and ask God what to do first; while I’m at it, I’m going to ask him to empower me to do it.
What have you found to work for you when you’re trying to make changes?
How do you balance your days to include work and play and all the things life includes?
 I’d love to hear from you!
Enjoy the last few days of 2015.
*NKJV
Leave a Reply

