Reading an Hour a Day Every Day

An hour a day…that’s what it takes. An hour a day every day. From the time the children were very small, I read aloud to them. When they became readers themselves, I began requiring each of them to to read for half an hour. As soon as they were reading chapter books, that stretched to an hour a day. No need to keep on with reading lessons. They learned comprehension as they read. They narrated to me. It was clear by their narrations whether they understood what they read. They became more fluent as they read.
I now have a young adult and three teens. One daughter recently took a college entrance test and received a score in the 99th percentile for reading.
An hour a day… all of my children love to read.
I think it’s working.
~~~~~
May I suggest?
~~~~~

 

Leave a Reply

