I’m Rich!

I’m Rich!

 

I’ve got a great big three ring binder full of recipes. I’ve got a great big tall stack of cookbooks. I’ve got a shelf of cookbooks. I’ve got two full recipe boxes and another box started. I’ve got loose recipes in a drawer waiting to be filed in a box or binder. I’ve got recipe pamphlets in the same drawer. I’ve got recipes on my blog. Did I mention that I’ve got recipes?

As I look about me, I realize a couple of things. First, even though I’m surrounded by recipes, I tend to prepare the same meals over and over. Second, I’ve got more recipes surrounding me than I could prepare in a lifetime. I think it’s time to pare down a bit.

I was looking through my big binder a few minutes ago for a recipe to share with you all. I found that most of the recipes in my binder are ones that I’ve collected off the internet or from friends. Most of the recipes are untried. Now, if I’ve had this binder for two or three years, and I haven’t tried most of the recipes yet, why am I keeping them?

Does it make one a good cook to have lots of recipes? Does it make one a good homemaker to have lots of cleaners, recipes for cleaners or books about cleaning? Does it make one a good mother to have lots of books about child rearing? Does it make one a good Christian to have lots of Bibles and Christian books?

I think not. I think that there are many areas in our lives wherein we do not see the clutter. The truth is, I can go through my recipes and just keep my favorites and a few that I’m sure I want to try. I can go through my cookbooks and save my favorites and just write off the ones I like from the books I want to discard. The same holds true for other things in my life as well.

What about you? Are there things in your life that you are holding onto just in case? Are they things you really need? Really want? Are there things that are just clutter?

Now, I really cannot write all of this without sharing a nice salsa that you can make during the winter that is just delicious.

 

Kitchen Cupboard Salsa

1 can (28 oz) crushed tomatoes

1 medium diced onion (I prefer sweet.)

1 small can of chopped green chiles

1 T sugar

1 T dried parsley

½ t freshly ground pepper

½ t salt

½ t ground cumin

½ t garlic powder

Stir all this together in a bowl. Cover and refrigerate for an hour.

Laura

Recipe Rich

3 thoughts on “I’m Rich!

  1. Laura, have you been going through my cupboards and bookshelves?! I totally agree with you – we have way too much clutter in our lives. I think we should sift through it and keep only the good old used clutter that we know and love, and let someone else see if they could use the other clutter that is unknown, not really useful to us and needs to move on. I’m sure someone can come to love it :O) Love the recipe – I’m going to try it this week-end!

    Blessings, Barb

    Like

Leave a Reply

