Homemade Handmade Heartmade Christmas

This is a homemade, handmade, heartmade Christmas at Harvest Lane Cottage. Momma’s making Christmas from scratch as much as possible. I made a quick little gift for my daughters. It’s a little crocheted cotton drawstring bag that’s just big enough to hold a bar of soap.

Using a size I crochet hook and cotton yarn, I chained 25 and turned. Single crochet across and repeat rows until it is long enough to hold your favorite bar of soap. You can add a little frilly touch by chaining 3 and then slipstitching in each single crochet across the top. I then folded it in half lengthwise and slipstitched around the edges to make a little bag. You could sew it together with yarn instead if you prefer.

Next, I used a complementary color to make the drawstring. I just chained about 75 or 80. Just make it long enough to weave in and out through your stitches in a drawstring style. Tie the ends together, and you’ll have a nice little bag for your soap. Use it to wash with in the shower or tub. It’s also great to gather up the soap slivers. Just be sure to rinse it in hot water and hang it to dry. You can even the soap in it. You can remove the soap and toss the bag in your washer and dryer once in awhile, too.

My best advice is to look at what you have and think creatively. Do what you can with what you’ve got where you are! Make your focus time spent with your family. Explain to the kids how things are. Kids are remarkable. They can be happy with the smallest of gifts if they really know they have your heart and your attention.

May the God of Hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him.

Laura

One thought on “Homemade Handmade Heartmade Christmas

  1. What a great idea! I have lots of leftover yarn and needed some good ideas for it. I plan on making two of my grandchildren tied quilts for their beds, with fabric that I purchased this summer. I usually make pajamas for all my grandchildren at Christmas. There is nothing better than homemade gifts – gifts from the heart.

    Blessings. Barb

    Like

Leave a Reply

