Dish Soap, Laundry Detergent, and Gas

My husband has been out of work since August 1.  Even the job he had didn’t meet all of our expenses.  No unemployment benefits are available to him.  Tuesday night, I put the last of our money in the gas tank.  It’s an incredible thing to have no income.  The only thing we can do is depend on God for our needs.  God has since sent a check for $25…enough to buy dish soap, laundry detergent and some gas.  He’s incredible.  He knew these were the things we needed immediately.  Thank You Father God!  I think we are learning to live by faith in a more real and “desperate for God” way than ever before. 

I don’t know your exact situation.  If God hadn’t made an incredible way for us to have a place to live in a caretaker’s cottage working off the rent, we’d be out of a home right now.  God can provide when it seems impossible.  I find that so much of what I experience depends on how I am take things emotionally.  True faith comes from true need and true dependence.

Do you know the Lord?  He is so much more than church.  He is our savior, our redeemer, our hope in hopeless times.  He is our provider and healer of the broken hearted.  I’d love to tell you more if you’d like to meet Him.  Just comment; and, I’ll e-mail you.

Those of you who know Him, I encourage you to really get to know Him through His written word, through prayer, through being still and listening for His still small voice.

God bless you, dear reader!  Your family is safe in HIS hands. 
Laura

Blessed Among Women in My Own Generation

5 thoughts on “Dish Soap, Laundry Detergent, and Gas

  1. I’ve been using homemade laundry soap for over six months. It is very economical and very easy to make.

    Liquid Laundry Soap
    1/2 cup Borax
    1/2 cup washing soda (or sodium carbonate)
    1 cup soap flakes or a grated bar soap (we used our homemade soap, but you could use Pure & Natural from the store)
    2 gallons water
    20 drops essential oil (optional- I didn’t have any)

    Combine Borax, washing soda, and most of the water. Boil soap flakes in remaining water, and add to first mixture. The soap will gel the mixture If your water is hard, add more washing soda. Use about 1/2 cup per load.

    Washing soda is available at grocery stores, not Wal Mart and also on amazon.com

    I used half as much water to make mine more concentrated, so I only use 1/4 cup per load.

    Like

  2. Praising the Lord with you for His abundant provision! My husband has been out of work since May, and but for the grace of God we’d be hungry and homeless. Through the sacrifical gifts of the saints, learning the art of being content, and good old-fashioned ingenuity we’ve made it thus far. God is good and His faithfulness should be proclaimed throughout all generations. I’ll be praying for you and your dear family.

    Like

    • Tammy,
      May God bless you continually with contentment, patience and provision. I do pray that God will strengthen your marriage and give your husband work that is fitting for him.

      Blessings,
      Laura

      Like

Leave a Reply

