If You Have Two or Three Witnesses…

A friend gave us a pile of pickling cucumbers. I’ve never made pickles of any kind; but, he said that they’d be good for pickle relish. Well, I’ve canned tomatoes and green beans and made jam and jelly. I got out my Ball Blue Book and looked up the recipe. It looked easy enough.
I took the book with me to the store with me this morning to make sure I didn’t forget anything. The recipe called for green and red peppers. As I put them in my cart, I wished that ours were ready in our garden. I spent almost $5 on peppers! It called for celery seed. Yes, I’ve got that. Salt, yes. Sugar, yes. Onions, yes. Mustard seed. No, I’m sure I don’t have that. Unfortunately, neither did the store. Nor did the next store or the next.
Finally, I found myself at Wal-Mart. My three children kept insisting that we had mustard seed at home. Impossible. I could not think of anything that I would have bought mustard seed to make. I’ve never pickled before. They persisted. I said no, it was dried mustard powder. I was so sure of myself. I bought a jar.
When I got home, my children presented me with the jar of seeds that I had put in the freezer!
“Every matter must be established by the testimony of two or three witnesses.” 2 Corinthians 13:1b
God’s Word really does apply to every situation of our lives. I had three witnesses. I didn’t believe them. I thought I knew better. I should have listened. I’m learning…just slowly!
Well, I must go get started on that relish.
Laura
One thought on “If You Have Two or Three Witnesses…

Leave a Reply

