Will Work for Food

 

 

 

I read My Lowell’s blog today and saw the title Will Work for Food.  That title caught my attention.   He asked his readers what they would work for.  Good question.  What will we work for?  A house, cars, electricity, phones, computers, clothes, gas, water, toys, food, hobbies, fun, freedom.  There are lots of things.  They’re just that, aren’t they?   Things.  I’ve read some great articles and posts over the years about simplifying and such.  It’s really rather cliche’ in some circles.  That question, “What will you work for?” really is a good place to start.  Just as important is the question, “What won’t you work for?”

One of the very first things that started my husband down the road to the life we are currently living was a old, early 70’s model former police detective’s car.   By the time I saw it, it was old and tired and rusty.  Lowell rather jokingly offered to buy it for me when he saw the records of upkeep and the price, $250.  Now, it was almost 20 years ago, but I saw something in that old car that he didn’t.  Freedom!  He bought it for me.  I drove it proudly.  I called it my “I won’t work to pay for a car” car.  It ended up being a terrific blessing to me and our family.  Not having that extra car payment allowed us to make the choice for me to stay home and raise our newborn son, Matthew, myself.  That’s freedom.   It was one of the best things I ever did. 

So, now you know what I won’t work for.  

Laura

Leave a Reply

