My Little Butter Fingers!

My Amy and I made butter today!

I just had to share a few photos.  She was just so cute!  I don’t know when she’s had so much fun!

First, we put the heavy cream that I’d skimmed from real live cow’s milk into the Bosch mixer.  We mixed it until Amy practically squealed that it was butter.  The mixing caused the butter and the buttermilk to separate.  I poured off about a pint of buttermilk through a small strainer into a pint jar.  My Matthew, 17, immediately suggested I make biscuits…maybe tomorrow.  Here’s Little Amy putting the butter into my Grandma Bern’s old mixing bowl. 

Making Butter with Momma 

Next she washed the butter.  She absolutely loved getting her hands into it.

Washing the Butter

Finally, all the buttermilk was rinsed out. 

It was time to squeeze out the last of the water.  I drained it and put it in the refrigerator for a bit to firm up.  Then I pulled it out and worked in the salt.  Last of all, I packed it into Tupperware to keep it safe.

It was great fun!

Oh, I added a set of cards to my shop.  I have more items to come including some cute little socks with crocheted lace trim. 

SCRAPBOOK STYLE FLORAL CALENDAR CARDS
$3.00
Crocheted Cotton Dishcloth - Yellow with Blue and Pink Speckles
$4.00
Crocheted Cotton Dishcloth - Blue Speckled
$4.00
Crocheted Dishcloth or Wash cloth, for Kitchen or Baby
$4.00
Etsy: Your place to buy & sell all things handmade
harvestlanecottage.etsy.com

Have a great day!

Laura

Happy at Home

2 thoughts on “My Little Butter Fingers!

  1. Looks like you two had great fun, Laura! We’ve made butter several times, but only with the shake, shake, shake the jar method. Either way it comes out sweet, creamy, and delicious! Enjoy the fruits of you labor!

    Love,
    ~Rebecca

    Like

  2. What fun! I have an Amy, too. When she was six, she was missing both front teeth at Christmas. Say “hi” to your Amy from me and tell her she’s doing a great job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

