Something to Think About…The Gathering Place

Where does your family gather?  Your friends?  What can we do to make our homes the gathering place?  I’ve been thinking about this.  We don’t have a lot of “latest greatest” type toys or equipment at our house.  We do however have games, a basketball and goal, a baseball and bat, a trampoline, and lots of books.  Our kids like to go to play at others’ houses because usually they have more toys.  I’m thinking about what could draw the kids to our house. 

We do like to invite families over for a meal; then, the adults talk and the kids play together.  I think I need to plan these get togethers a little more often. 

Last night, my husband took me out for an early dinner and shopping.  When we returned, my sweet family gave me a surprise birthday party in our back yard.  It was just cake and icecream, lawn chairs, a few toys, a trampoline, 4 couples (including us), my brother-in-law and mother-in-love, and 18 kids.  We had a blast.   It didn’t take much to have a great time.  Now, it did take some yard clean up and prep; but, that needed to be done anyway. 

My point is that it wasn’t anything fancy, just friends and family having a good time together.  My husband is having the guys at our little church over for a cook out on Friday evening.  It promises to be another beautiful fun evening.

I need to let go of some of my perfectionism.  It’s really our friends that we’re interested in.  Most of us don’t required fancy stuff to have a great time.  Let’s just follow President Teddy Roosevelt’s advice,

“Do what you can

with what you have

where you are!”

Talk to your honey; and, invite someone over this week!

Laura

Happy at Home

3 thoughts on “Something to Think About…The Gathering Place

  1. Great thoughts! We have had the most fun at simple get-togethers, just inviting another family over for a meal and maybe some fellowship or a game afterwards. I have had to let some of my perfectionism go as well, especially since the children were born. But I would rather exchange my ideas of a perfect party for the happy noise of a housefull of kids at one of our birthday parties! You are right ~ the best hospitality doesn’t depend on anything fancy or grand. It comes from the heart. Enjoy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

