Easter Weekend Plans 2008

Hi Friends,

I’ve been thinking of my plans for the coming weekend.  Those of you who are Christians know that this is Holy Week.  Now, my husband and I are what I call first generation Christians, though some of our parents are now saved.  We don’t have traditions that have been handed down regarding Easter.  All we knew was the Easter bunny came and gave us a big basket of candy which we then made ourselves sick on. 

When we had our own children, I started thinking about what I’d like it to be for our family.  We’re still in the process of making our own traditions.

Here’s what I’ve got in mind for this week:

Thursday–  “Last Supper” Communion dinner of homemade bread and grape juice.  We’ll talk about Jesus’ last days and the crucifixion and resurrection. 

Note to me…make homemade bread in the morning and stir up the grape juice.

Friday-  We’ll color eggs just because it’s fun, and they make a good snack.  We’ll eat them during the weekend.

Note to me…boil 18 eggs early Friday morning. 

Saturday- In the morning, I’ll make cupcakes with jellybeans and licorice to look like Easter baskets.  In the evening, we’ll make Resurrection Cookies.  Hillbilly Sweetpea shares the recipe here.

Sunday- We’ll go to church, have an egg hunt there, then come home to a nice ham dinner.  My mother-in-love will join us for the day.  I usually give the kids a small gift, $5 or less and a little candy in a basket.  The Easter bunny doesn’t stop at our house, he just hops on by. ~smile~

I’d love to hear what your plans are for the weekend.  Maybe you have an idea we’d like to add to our celebration.

Whatever you do this weekend, keep the focus on our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Blessings!

Laura

2 thoughts on “Easter Weekend Plans 2008

  1. We have a sunrise service at 6:30, then a church breakfast, and a family supper last that afternoon, so a full day for us. Happy Easter Friend!! Hugs!!

    Like

  2. Amen Sister♥
    It is very difficult to keep Christ the focus when the world puts on the holiday.
    I really liked your idea for a Communion Dinner it seriously rocks, I will have to remember to try and do something like that next year.
    As a child we (our Christian Community) used have a Sonrise service, then gather together for hot cross buns.

    Thanks for coming up with such a wonderful new tradition.

    Happy Resurrection Weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

