Jars…A Great way to Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle

  Jars….I’ve been on again off again about collecting jars to use over the years.  I’ve got about a zillion quart mason jars in my garage that I’ve moved from house to house.  I’m waiting to have a place to garden.  Perhaps next year.  It appears we will be moving during this growing season.

 I read a post about jars from a new blog that I found today.  It’s called Down-to-Earth (I promise I’ll figure out how to link one of these days!).  She wrote a terrific post about using jars here,  http://down—to—earth.blogspot.com/2007/10/jars.html .  I just read a couple of posts; but, I’m sure I’ll be going back regularly.

Glass jars are a great way to reduce your use of plastic bags or containers.  Most anything can be stored in them, either on the counter, in a cabinet, in the refrigerator, or even in the freezer, if you don’t fill them too full.  New jars are wonderful; but , I like to reuse old jars that I find at yard sales and the ones that I buy products in at the store.  The only limit is your imagination when it comes to filling these little treasures.  I love to give gift mixes in mason jars.  This is my own way to recycle since I don’t have a convenient way to recycle items where I live.

So, thanks to the reminder from Rhonda at Down-to-Earth, I’m going to renew my efforts to reduce, reuse and recycle jars again.

Blessings to all as we learn to make do with what the LORD has provided for our use and enjoyment.

Laura

Happy at Home

One thought on “Jars…A Great way to Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle

  1. I too have a ton of mason jars that will follow me, never know when you will need them. I don’t can as much as I use too but you can use them in so many ways. Gonna check out that jar blog, thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

