Spare Moments…Something to Think About

 Pink Heart Art Print by Sarah Elizabeth Chilton
“Guard well your spare moments. They are like uncut diamonds. Discard them and their value will never be known. Improve them and they will become the brightest gems in a useful life.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson
I’ve not guarded my moments like I should in the past.  I can truthfully say that I probably won’t always in the future either; nevertheless, I choose to be aware and do my best to fill these moments of my life with productivity, kindness to others, and worship to my Father in Heaven. 
In preparing for my etsy shop, I have found that I am keeping my hands busy almost constantly.  I sat down to watch a movie with my husband the other night.  I had misplaced my workbag and had to just sit there.  My hands felt so strange!  I am beginning to understand the old phrase, “Idle hands are the devil’s workshop.”  I am really looking forward to sharing photos of my projects with you.
A couple of nights ago, I took a loaf of homemade bread to our next door neighbors.  We don’t know them well because we don’t speak much Spanish.  They don’t speak much English.  This simple act of kindness was understood in both languages.  I want to look for ways to bless my family and those that God puts in my path.  So much can be done from our homes, a card, a call, a loaf of bread, a plate of cookies, an invitation for dinner or dessert.  The Lord has a place of ministry for us right in our homes.
I want to catch the fleeting moments when I’m idle in body or mind to sing praise to my God, out loud or silently in my spirit.  I want to pray unceasingly.  I want to love God and be aware of His love and His complete care and provision for me in every situation.
May I please my Father in Heaven, my husband in home, my children under foot, and may I be a blessing to those whom I touch.
God bless you!
Laura
Choosing Contentment Today
Happy at Home
One thought on “Spare Moments…Something to Think About

  1. Nice post Laura, and so true! Simple acts of kindness go a long way! How is the Etsy shop coming along? I too am finding I’ve got to be making things more often than not?

    Like

Leave a Reply

