What is in Your Hand? $50 Grocery Shopping Trip

What is in your hand?

If you have only $50 to go grocery shopping for the week, how can you do it?  It seems impossible.  Well, I did that this morning.  When you have that much money, the key is using it for what I call completer items. 

For instance, I already had some fruits and vegetables on hand from last week’s shopping.  Today, I bought salad dressing and some inexpensive croutons to complete a main dish salad.

I bought a restaurant size can of tomato sauce to complete spaghetti.  I already had noodles, leftover italian sausage in the freezer,  and spices at home.

I bought a can of crushed tomatoes and a pound of ground chuck to complete my chili.

You get the idea.  The point is to think about what you can make with what you have; and, buy the completer ingredients that you need to make a meal.

For breakfasts, I bought oats and brown sugar to make Brown Sugar Granola from www.hillbillyhousewife.com .  This is an inexpensive granola recipe. My kids aren’t real fond of plain oatmeal; so, I try to change it up a bit.

For lunches, I’m hoping for leftovers to fill the gap!

If all else fails, I can make bread and serve beans!

Just an idea to help you with training for the grocery store high jump!

God bless and good shopping!

Laura

Happy at Home

One thought on “What is in Your Hand? $50 Grocery Shopping Trip

  1. Hi Laura,

    I just found your blog. You explained that well and I like the idea of thinking of it as “completers”.

    I shop like this most weeks plus try to add in a few extras from the loss leaders for future weeks.

    Looking forward to reading more.

    Blessings

    Like

Leave a Reply

