A Thrifty and Busy Day

Hello!

I have had a long afternoon and evening away from home.  I joined friends for a scrapbooking/cardmaking crop from about 1:30 p.m. until about 10:00 p.m.  It was very fun.  I love having time to just be creative for long stretches.  It seems that I have an unwinding period before the real creativity kicks in.  Are you like that too?

 Well, here’s how I spent my time. 

First, I completed a crocheted dish cloth that I started earlier this week.

Next, I started working on scrapbook pages for my kids.   I completed twenty-four pages to be devided amoung their books. 

Perhaps I’ve already told you that the big gift for my kids this year was a scrapbook for each of them.  I did this very frugally by using a white three ring binder.  I  inserted  an 8 x 10 photo in the front of each child’s book.   The pages were white cardstock inserted in page protectors.  I had one for each child and one for my mother-in-love.  Tonight I continued making pages to add to their books.  I worked on the year 2000 using extra photos left over from doing my own scrapbook from that year.  My main scrapbooks are done with Creative Memories. 

Last, I made some greeting cards, a total of 17,  most were for Valentine’s Day,  a couple were for Christmas, and a few were just friendship cards. 

So, where does the thrifty come in?

Well, other than the cardstock I bought the other day, I didn’t buy any of the supplies that I used tonight.  They were items that had been given to me,  I borrowed, or that were left over from other projects.  I used scraps, scraps, and more scraps. 

Gee, isn’t that what scrapbooking is all about?  ~smile~ 

I encourage you to look at what you have in your hand and do the best you can with it.  “Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without.”  Good words for hard times.

God bless you all!

Laura

Happy at Home

3 thoughts on “A Thrifty and Busy Day

  1. You have inspired me to scrapbook. I have all kinds of ‘scrappy tools” but never seem to use them to do a scrapbook for myself and girls.
    Well I think its time, I appreciate your statement about hand journaling; how true!!!!

    Thanks again for the inspiration

    Cindy

    Like

Leave a Reply

