Feeling Calmer Today!

Hi, I’m feeling calmer today! I discussed the food cost increase with my husband. He agreed that we don’t need meat every day. I bought some fresh vegetables and apples today.

Tonight we had a lovely salad with mixed greens, baby spinach, carrots, broccoli, celery, and green pepper, adorned with our favorite dressings. We followed with a delicious bowl of Mushroom Barley soup. Well, I did. Everyone else had at least two bowls of the soup. See the recipe in the cooking category. You really must try it. The barley is in the cereal aisle near the oatmeal.

Tomorrow I will cook pinto beans for refried beans. Those will appear tomorrow night as burritos. Yum! Then, Friday night, Honey and I decided to have our date night at home. We’re going to shoo the children downstairs and cook together. We really enjoy that. I have a bag of boneless, skinless chicken breasts (my big splurge this week) to cook. He’s going to look for a recipe to try in

his new America’s Test Kitchen cookbook that I gave him for Christmas. The kids will eat with us; then, they’ll be shooed back downstairs while Honey and I watch a movie together.

Well, that’s what we’ve got planned. You know the old saying, “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry.” ~smile~

Blessings!

Laura

Happy at Home

      3 thoughts on “Feeling Calmer Today!

      1. Hi, Laura,
        I noticed you mentioned a Barley Mushroom Soup, and I was curious how it compared to mine. But then I couldn’t find it!
        Oh, and yeah, aren’t the grocery prices something?! But when you cook from scratch, using whole grains and beans and such, it’s not quite as bad, hey?
        Nice to see more Christians on here 🙂
        God bless,
        Jen

        Like

      2. I heard on the news the other day that food prices had increased by 40% in the last year and I can well believe it! I think the days of affluence are rapidly coming to an end and we all will have to rely on thrift more and more to get by. We eat vegetarian more and more often these days, although the prices of fruit and veg are not that cheap either!

        Like

      3. Enjoy your date night, sounds like fun! Yes, it’s getting harder to feed our families than ever before. I keep a eye on sales, Walmart cuts the price of meat weekly when the dates get close to expiring, still good but you can save alot! I buy hamburger like that all the time. Ground turkey is good too and can be used just like hamburger in many recipes. Canned chicken is great and cheap for soups and stuff. We also like spegetti noodles with garlic and olive oil, parm.cheese on top! Yumm….

        Like

      Leave a Reply

      