Rising Grocery Prices and a Frugal Recipe

 I went to the grocery store today for a few things.  I wanted to buy some meat.  We’ve been eating a lot of beans and soups lately.  I thought some pork chops or a beef roast or a roasting chicken might be a nice change.  I was shocked to see how much the prices have gone up!  I left the store without them.  I must admit it was most upsetting.  I’m sure I’m not the only one who has noticed the rapidly rising food prices.  In response, I’m going to share a frugal recipe.  I’d love to read your favorite low cost recipes and tips if you’ll leave a comment. 

I hope you enjoy this!

Laura

Happy at Home

 

 

 

Lentils and Rice

 

This is thick, like a casserole, rather than soupy.

This is good enough to serve to company! We did!

 

4 cloves garlic, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

4 t olive or canola oil

1 ½ c dry lentils, rinsed

1 ½ c brown rice

6 t chicken bouillon

1 t dried oregano

1 t basil

8 c water

In a soup pot, sauté the onion and garlic in the canola oil.

Add the remaining ingredients and bring it to a full boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for about 45 to 50 minutes. The water should be mostly absorbed.

This would serve 8 amply. I served 4 adults and 8 children and had just enough.

It was good with cornbread.

Leave a Reply

