Use it Up, Wear it Out, Make it Do, or Do Without!

Use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without.  I’ve heard that phrase a couple of different ways.  The other way is use it up, wear it out make it over or do without.  I’ve always admired the ingenuity of pioneer women and the women who lived during the Depression of the 1930s.  (Not to be confused with the Depression of the 21st century which is treated with Prozac) ~smile~

Well, I had the opportunity to make something over this morning.  My daughter had some stains on her denim skirt.  It was otherwise in good condition.  I took some pretty homespun fabrics in tans and brick red, backed them with some Wonder Under, and cut out big country style stars.  I then pinned them on the skirt in ones, twos, or threes wherever there were stains.  After ironing them on according to the package directions, I finished with a narrow zigzag stitch around the stars.  The result was really pretty.  She was so touched that I took the time to do that for her. 

I wish I could show you a photo; but, I don’t have a digital camera yet.  Oh, I know, but I’m just a little old fashioned.  ~smile~ Maybe someday….

God bless you, dear Reader!

Laura

Happy at Home

3 thoughts on “Use it Up, Wear it Out, Make it Do, or Do Without!

  1. A great saying! That was a wonderful solution to save your daughter’s skirt, and it sounds like a very pretty solution as well.
    You have a lovely blog Laura! Thank you for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment at mine.
    Merry Christmas,

    Deb

    Like

  2. That’s a great saying and so true! I wish we could see the skirt, do you have a 35mm camera? If so, you can make a picture CD at home or Walmart then upload them to your computer to post on your blog! That will do till you can get a digital camera!

    Like

  3. I have never heard that phrase before!! I LOVE IT!! I love to put “patches” over small holes and stains for my children. It seems so much easier to do on girls clothes than boys though.
    Thanks for reminding me to work with what I have!

    Like

Leave a Reply

